Breathing Underwater

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1388. Processed with VSCOcam with e4 preset

Hello lovely people! I’m so sorry for the lack of posts lately. I’ve been so swamped with my new job that I haven’t found the time to sit down and write.

I’m finally going to start breaking down our recent trip to North QLD. I wanted to begin with my favourite experience we were blessed with; scuba diving. Shawn and I had never dived before, and I have to admit I was pretty nervous.

“So, how long will we be down there for?” I asked the diving instructor as he strapped on the last of my equipment.

“A normal introductory dive is around 20 minutes, but I’ll keep you guys down for a bit longer” he said with a grin.

I took a deep breath, reminding myself that all I had to do was breathe continuously. After we tested out our breathing using the tanks, and had a good laugh about how the sound resembled Darth Vader to a tee, we let the air out of our jackets and began sinking down.

After 5 minutes of being under water, I forgot all about worrying to breathe, as it happened so naturally. I became mesmerised with all that I was experiencing; weightlessness, fish of all kinds, turtles, giant clams, lobsters, coral, eternal clear blue water and the list goes on. It was incredible, and before we knew it, we were back above the surface.

“Wow!” was about all I could get out right away. As I looked to Shawn, the same amount of amazement filled his face. We were immediately hooked. “How long were we under for?” I asked.

“Ahhh…. 49 minutes” our coach replied looking at his watch.

I couldn’t believe I’d just experienced almost an hour under water! We were able to go diving many more times while staying on a live aboard boat a couple of days later, which was a fantastic experience. It was Shawn’s favourite part of our trip by far, and would have been mine as well if I didn’t suffer from sea sickness… But regardless of that it was well worth it. Basically they turn a boat into a mini hotel and it stays out on the reef all the time, with new passengers boarding and disembarking via a smaller boat each day. We were in the water for every session of the day, mostly diving. You simply walked to the back deck, and jumped off into the perfect turquoise water. We even went of a night dive and swam with loads of sharks, it was completely unreal! I honestly can’t believe how blessed we were to be able to encounter such incredible marine life while we were there, I think we’ll be signing up for an introductory diving course one of these days 😉 also Shawn has become quite fond of underwater film and photography which is exciting for me as that means lots of time spent in the ocean – yay!

For whoever is wondering about our final video for the Paradise Through Your Lens Competition, it has been submitted, and I will post a link as soon as it goes live in April! Send out some prayers for us, it would completely change our lives if we won! Here are some underwater snaps taken with our GoPro Hero 4 Black – a great camera! Massive improvement from the Hero 3 which we used on our honeymoon. We also bought an LCD screen so that we could actually frame shots, another huge improvement!
IMG_8986 DCIM100GOPROGOPR1734. Processed with VSCOcam with m4 preset DCIM100GOPROG0660809. Processed with VSCOcam with e7 preset DCIM100GOPROG0130979. Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset DCIM100GOPROGOPR1586. IMG_2318 Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset DCIM100GOPROGOPR1442. Processed with VSCOcam with 3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f3 preset
If you are yet to experience scuba diving, get on that! It’s officially my favourite thing in the whole darn world.
E x

5 thoughts on “Breathing Underwater

  1. This is absolutely amazing Ellie! My husband and I are really excited to watch the video you and Shawn came up with! ❤ The closest thing I've done to what you did was snorkel around fishes to feed them haha. This experience looked really out of this world. Thanks for sharing this with us! ❤

Leave a Reply

