The Truth And Nothing But The Truth

I felt compelled to write this post just to, kindly, set a few things straight. Over the last year or so I have been receiving numerous emails, comments, and messages on all forms of social media asking questions which stem from misleading photos and posts.

Social media is often a platform in which people can showcase their lives to be much more extravagant and luxurious than what they actually are. Β While this is all well and good, it can affect how people not just view your life, but feel about their own. A lot of the messages I receive ask how I got this life, or how I can afford to travel so much, or how I find friends who will do such adventurous things with me. Now, I’m really not trying to take a stab at anyone here, or have a go at the people who have written me to ask these types of questions, because in all honesty I love to receive them still. But, I just have to make sure that we’re all aware of the fact that no one lives the perfect life, no matter how fantastic it may seem from the outside, we all have flaws and we all deal with day to day struggles.

I definitely suffer from “online jealously” as I scroll through my feed seeing incredible photos of incredible places. But the truth of the matter is; that photo could very well be six months old or it might be that particular person’s first time traveling in a long time. If we don’t know the full back story, we aren’t in the position to be jealous. Jealously is dangerous, it eats us up and brings us down. When we start comparing ourselves to others, and focusing more on what we don’t have rather than what we do have, we send ourselves into a dangerous downhill spiral into the land of no-hope (or so it may seem).

So, to anyone who is wondering, or has ever wondered how my life looks, I’ll give you an honest insight right now:

First of all, people aren’t wrong when they say “you have such a fantastic life!”, they’re right. I most certainly do! I love my life, it has highs, it has lows, and all the in between. It has family, love, adventures, freedom and so much more. Up until this point, we’re all clued in. It’s only when people ask about my apparent copious amounts of travel that we need to hit the brakes. The last place I travelled was to TNQ on my honeymoon. Before that, it had been almost a year. The whole of 2014 held virtually no travel for Shawn and I, which was totally fine because we were planning a wedding and saving to start our lives together. And people often ask how I got a job in travel. Well I don’t know where this magical travel job has come from, but if I do have one, can someone let me know where it is because I want it! I’m a part time nanny, and a part time preschool childcare worker. The most traveling I do in those jobs might be a walk to the park, or a train to the city on special occasions. Shawn and I don’t have much money, so even if I could get time off work to travel, we couldn’t pay for it. And another reason is that Shawn is currently on a bridging visa, meaning he won’t be able to leave the country until that is processed. It happens to have an average processing time of 12 months. But despite all these things, I feel incredibly blessed. You see, I have God on my side who promises me many exciting adventures are on their way, and after I’m done with these earthly roller coaster rides, I can move onto enjoying heaven with the promise of always having a good time (and jealously won’t exist!).

Again, I promise I’m not trying to be harsh, I just don’t want anyone lusting after my life without first knowing the honest truth. I’m also not trying to make myself out to be this fabulous celebrity with people emailing me every other day begging me to let them in my life secrets. No, no, no. These emails only come in every so often, I just really wanted to talk about the topic so that we can all learn that everyone we follow on Instagram has faults. And they don’t all have perfect lives with perfect husbands and perfect dogs and the perfect sunset everyday and the perfect view out their bedroom window. Okay, I think we get the point.

Now this is definitely something I need to work on just as much as the next person, I might never have sent an email, but I have definitely wondered how people manage to travel and enjoy life as much as they seem to. The important thing is to remember that each and every one of us is at different stages in life, and certainly don’t have it all. I hope I haven’t offended anyone throughout this post. Please keep writing me, I just didn’t want anyone to get the wrong idea about me! I hope to be able to travel and work at the same time one day, but for now, I’m focusing on what I have right in front of me, and remembering that new opportunities become available every single day!

Let’s begin to open our eyes and have a new perspective. Always remember the bigger picture. Love you all!

b31a5ca1c7041298cb3a84f6f58988e4

I liked this image I found on Pinterest. Let’s focus less on what our life looks like to others, and more on how our life can benefit others, and benefit ourselves!

11 thoughts on “The Truth And Nothing But The Truth

  1. Very thought provoking… now I think if it I have experienced instances of online jealousy as you call it. You never really know the full story behind that person’s world as you said πŸ™‚

  2. thank you for this. I too so often find myself falling prey to green eyes while scrolling through insta (mainly the “how do they afford all those valentinos and birkens?!”) we all need to remember that out lives are as great as we make them to be, if we are constantly wishing for someone else’s life, we lose out on the opportunity to see the wonders that are happening in our own!

    1. Haha so true! I’ve wondered similar things as well πŸ˜‰ I love that last part you wrote – you’re absolutely right, we often miss things in our lives as we’re too busy worrying about everyone else’s. Not cool! Thanks for writing!

  3. Ellie, thanks for reminding everyone to be happy with what they have and where they are in life. You are very wise for one so young. Social media can be a lot of smoke and mirrors. Who wants to posts boring everyday life pictures, right?
    I hope to meet you someday. I am Kaitlin Arndt’s mom in Washington.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment Kandi! I’d love to meet you as well, next time shawn and I are back over there we’ll have to tee it up πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

