DIY Christmas Baubles

It’s beginning to look a lot like christmas here in the Lowe’s residence! I have been on top of my christmas shopping this time around (almost completely finished – yay!) so now I am onto my christmas crafts. I am feeling especially crafty this year, and I’m assuming that’s due to the fact that I now have my very own place to decorate. Another factor is that Shawn comes from a home which is thoroughly decked out year after year, so I secretly feel I have a lot to live up to. But whatever the reason – I am having too much fun with it!

After we bought our very first christmas tree a couple weeks ago, we realised we had absolutely zero decorations. So I quickly hopped on Pinterest and undertook a serious inspiration mission. I found the idea to wrap simple tree decorations in yarn and figured I could definitely give that a whirl. The only decorations we could afford were horrible little plastic, sparkly things so this was the ideal solution.

Here’s how I did it!


Processed with VSCOcam with m5 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

What you’ll need:

  • Yarn, colours of your choice
  • Baubles (I found the glittery ones worked best as the yarn had more grip on them)
  • Scissors
  • Glue (I only ended up using this on the deer decorations)
  • Twine, to hang

As I said, the shiny, smooth surfaced baubles were much harder to work with than the glittered. But once you get it started, it stops slipping around. Prepare for slight frustration in the beginning though! I began by wrapping the yarn around the little gold knob.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Then I proceeded to wrap the yarn in a messy, criss-crossed pattern until I could no longer see the original colour of the bauble. It doesn’t take long at all once you’ve got your rhythm down pat!

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

I finished off the bauble by simply tucking the end of the yarn under some tightly wrapped yarn. You can also use a spot of craft glue to secure it more. And voila!

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Now to finish them off I cut up some twine we had lying around the place and tied little loops to hang on the tree.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

And there you have it – cute little christmas decorations for your tree. Simple, and barely cost a thing, AND the perfect little activity whilst watching a christmas film.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

If you’re wondering about the silver deer heads you saw in the first couple of photos, I only ended up doing one of those as they were so incredibly fiddly. I had used up all my patience by the end of the first one. He is now perched on the top of our tree though, and looking pretty great I must say!

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Merry Christmas!!

2 thoughts on “DIY Christmas Baubles

Leave a Reply

