Our Engagement Party

After many weeks of planning and some especially busy days last week, our engagement party fell into place on Saturday. I’m not generally a fan of parties for myself but this one was such an incredible blessing.

At 4am on Friday morning, my dear mama and I headed off to the Sydney flower markets (new favourite place) so that we could deck the party area out with beautiful autumn colours. A much busier place than I expected, but oh so wonderful. The rest of the day was spent cleaning and gardening, bringing our house and back yard up to a beautiful standard. The evening was spent baking, cooking, and cleaning some more. Once Saturday arrived we realised how much we hadn’t achieved on Friday and the panic started to set in. We made 4 or 5 trips to various shops after forgetting this, or not getting enough of that.

Our lovely friend Stef arrived 45 minutes before the party began to take a few quick engagement snaps of us which was very special, and something we hadn’t thought too much about doing. I’m very glad we did though. Before we knew it, people were arriving and the yard began filling up with everybody we love most. Excluding all Shawn’s family and friends from Seattle unfortunately. We got all the food out on the tables, everything looked great, the sun was shining, and we were all having a brilliant time. But a couple of hours into the party, clouds started to heavily form and the wind picked up bringing down branches and knocking over decorations. Everyone was hustled inside the house for warmth and protection. We started serving up our soups and hot drinks, and although the weather wasn’t at all ideal, it ended up being lovely and cozy with everyone together inside. People felt at home, and that is exactly what I had hoped for.

Both Shawn and I felt so blessed by each and every person who came to celebrate our love with us and I was left feeling treasured and extremely fortunate to have such incredible people in my life. At the end of night, once most of the crowd had cleared out, it was just a small group of my closest friends sitting around the family room, nibbling on leftover snacks and sweets. We enjoyed that wind down time more than anything, it was a perfect end to the night and I wouldn’t have changed a thing.

Thank you to everyone who came and has had an impact in Shawn and/or my life, we are totally and completely blessed and thankful. Unfortunately I was having such a great time I didn’t get many opportunities to take snaps of the day! This is the best I’ve got, however I’ll be posting a few of our engagement photos very soon.

photo 1 photo 2

Leave a Reply

