Faith In The Unseen

IMG_2109I have been wonderfully surprised by how my faith has skyrocketed in this present season. A season of preparing for a marriage with very little money and in Shawn’s case, no job. When we first got engaged we had about $300 between the two of us, which could have been an excuse to worry and stress. But instead, we held on tight to the promise that God will provide for us, knowing fully that he had brought us together with a purpose. The weeks ticked pass, still no job or any sign of one for Shawn, and I was working 1 or 2 days a week nannying. But throughout this time, with both our bank accounts looking pretty scarce, God kept us a float. He provided a wedding video job for Shawn, which kept him going for a while, and I was provided more consistent work shifts. We were still just barely scraping by, and with a wedding and a $4000 Australian citizenship cost hanging over our heads it wasn’t looking good.

I can’t really describe how I’ve been feeling, the best I can do is to say that I am in a constant state of peace. I am calm, reassured, and hopeful. My relationship with God has become sturdier than ever, and I continually feel his tangible presence. Money, or lack thereof, can swiftly become a catalyst for a broken relationship. Shawn and I were determined to not let our financial situation affect us in any negative way. Rather, it has been a positive aspect of our engagement causing us to draw near to God, together.

There are so many verses in the Bible that have assisted me in keeping my clarity, but I’ll give you just two for now.

2 Corinthians 5:7 says:

“We live by faith, not by sight.”

And Hebrews 11:1 says:

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

These two verses really paint a clear picture of what our mindset should be like. The Lord cannot be seen, but the effects of his works can. Our hope is anchored by the things we have seen God do,not when we have seen God. And if you need even more examples aside from the miracles He has performed in your own life, we have the Bible, which is a gift that keeps on giving. There is always something new to learn, a different angle to take on a story. Jesus performed miracle after miracle, and even before and after Jesus was on the earth, we see God move powerfully through people’s lives. This is why we need to engrave these stories to our heart, and constantly remind ourselves of all God has done in the past and is doing in the present. It is all we have to hang on to, because as both these verses illustrate; we must have faith to live, and to have faith we must be certain of what we cannot see.

I am certain that Shawn and I will be married on October 15th 2014 and that everything within God’s plan will fall perfectly into place between now and then, and for all the days after. Money is not an issue for God, it never has been and it never will be. If there is something He wishes to achieve in your life, He will bring it to pass whether you have enough funds or not. There is always a way through Christ, and this is so evident through my relationship with Shawn. It seemed impossible, yet our Father made a way.

So yes, the world tells us we should be worrying because we have no money, one of us without a job, and a whole lot to save for. But the Lord says, look to me and I will lead you through, I will protect you.

One last encouraging verse of faith that I will leave with you is from Matthew 17:20 and it says:

“I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

Anything can happen with the power of Jesus! Be filled with faith dear friends, and you will find a joy that cannot be surpassed.

10 thoughts on “Faith In The Unseen

  1. Thank you for sharing your heart and faith. This was so encouraging to read and I don’t know you at all but am so thankful I stumbled upon your Instagram whenever I did!
    I am going through a completely different phase of life than you, (one that is not so filled with joy), but your joy and faith in God just is so uplifting to read about and I am encouraged by your posts.

    Sorry for rambling! God bless you pretty lady.

    -Christie

    1. I’m glad that it can be an encouragement for you! Trust me, I have been through my fair share of low seasons as well. It will come to pass, and joy is always accessible through God 🙂 thanks for writing!

  2. Hello. I found your blog few days ago. I’m completely in love with all this photos and words. Greetings from Poland 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for sharing this, those verses helped me out in great ways today, they were something I needed to hear and reflect on. Wonderful words, I am glad I found your blog. I will be praying for you and Shawn, I am so excited to see how God will work further in your lives 🙂

  4. Wow, thank you so much for this post. You have no idea what it means to me right now.
    Best of luck to you and Shawn! xx

Leave a Reply

