Ain’t No Wifey… Yet!

It’s becoming more and more real each day… I will be a grown up, real life wife in exactly five months! It sort of blows my mind when I think about it, there’s so much to prepare for in such a short amount of time.

I mean to start with there’s obvious things like the engagement party, hens night, a wedding dress, flowers, cake, food, venue, accommodation, the honeymoon and all the other wedding day necessities. But what are we really preparing for? It’s so easy to forget what the focus of this engagement period is. It’s not who’s doing your wedding make up, what the guests will be eating, where you’ll be getting married, what your colour scheme will be, etc. No, none of those things are important in the long run. It’s the fact that you and your love will be joining together as one. Sure, the wedding is important as it’s a public declaration in front of your friends, family and most importantly, God. But what comes after the big day? A marriage. And that is going to take a lot more preparation than the wedding day.

I see so many couples getting caught up in the glitz and glamour yet disregard the importance of being mentally, spiritually and emotionally ready for the eternal bond that is marriage.

I am trying so hard to keep my head in the right space, to constantly be reminding myself that this decision is of much greater capacity than a fun day in a white dress. I want our special day to be as simplified as possible, so that the main focus of these next five months can be preparing ourselves to be husband and wife for the rest of our days.

Of course we will never be completely prepared, as I know couples who have been married 15+ years are still learning things about one another and how to approach certain situations. We will be spending the rest of our lives trying to figure this whole “two becoming one” thing out, but the best way we can start off is to form a base for our marriage.

Praying together, creating goals and dreams for the future, improving communication, opening up to one another with any past hurts or struggles and so many more things can provide a clean slate to begin building your new lives together.

I love this verse from Philippians 2:2, I will definitely be meditating on it over the coming months.

Make my joy complete by being of the same mind, maintaining the same love, united in spirit, intent on one purpose.

Of course Shawn and I have only been engaged for a little over a month so really I am not an experienced professional on this topic at all! But as always, I simply enjoy sharing my thoughts here on She’s Gone Lala, and hope that they will be of some use or encouragement to all my lovely readers.

Remember to share your thoughts with me by emailing me on my Contact Her page.

Much much love
X

20140515-110028.jpg

20140515-110037.jpg

20140515-110047.jpg

3 thoughts on “Ain’t No Wifey… Yet!

Leave a Reply

