Ocean VS Ice

Anyone who half knows me will be aware of my love for the ocean. I feel most at peace and inspired when I am close to it. I love the beach; running through the soft squeaky sand and taking a dive straight into the big blue. I love the beach in the sunshine, I love it in the rain, and I love it in the winter and in the spring. I’m a fan. Let’s just leave it at that.  I’m a summer girl at heart though; the warm golden sun has always been a close friend of mine. I love ice cream, pretty dresses, sandals and sun kissed skin.

So it seems almost ironic that I have turned mildly crazy for Iceland: a freezing cold country covered in solidified water. The wind is cold, the ground is cold, the air is cold, and everything else is cold. The winter chill doesn’t suit me well at all, I freeze up, don’t want to leave my bed, and feel as though the world is slowly ending. Am I being slightly dramatic? Well, yes, probably. But that’s what the cold does to me.

So why, oh why, do I feel so incredibly drawn to Iceland? It could be the copious amounts of tumblr photos I’ve been saving into my “Iceland” folder (don’t judge me) or it could be the fact that I saw that movie The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty or that I just have a very unhealthy obsession with travel and I miss Europe.

I have technically been to Iceland once, and I checked with Shawn to see if it counts and he says it does. I had a layover there last year on my way from London to Seattle. I stayed in Reykjavík for two hours and it was magical. Of course I was trapped in an airport, but outside the windows was ice, miles and miles of it. I was literally in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by white.

So maybe tropical beach locations aren’t the only thing to keep me happy. The ocean will always be my favourite thing, but anywhere with vast expanses of open sky, water or land will get my heart racing. To me, Iceland looks wide and free and somewhere that I could really breathe.  The day I explore this marvelous land, will be a very happy one indeed.

Here are some photos I stole from people’s tumblr’s. Not my photos!

tumblr_n150peaP5b1tto9b3o1_500 tumblr_n1ie5l2Q3I1t4vqzwo1_500 tumblr_n1hd48rSOR1qzvfpdo1_500 tumblr_n1gqxe0Zca1rcntv6o1_500 tumblr_n1em97kkAG1rqx86wo1_500 tumblr_n1dtfsyrI71sjv9g1o1_500 tumblr_n1dkniD7tU1s3oodco1_500 tumblr_n1d36raQNK1qgitszo1_500 tumblr_n1eg5dleCN1qigj88o1_500 tumblr_n1d6zr5sLR1qcg3xpo1_500 tumblr_n1cxukjt6m1s93yjmo1_500 tumblr_n1cxndzrve1s93yjmo1_500 tumblr_n1cuneFejw1smx7x5o1_500

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ocean VS Ice

  1. I am obsessed with Iceland! I went there a few years ago, and if you go in the right month it’s not that cold! It gets the gulf stream air, so it’s about the same temp in the spring as New England (where I’m from). It was so gorgeous and so easy to explore, I would HIGHLY recommend going! These pictures are beautiful and truly sum up what it’s like being there.

    xo
    Christa
    http://www.gardeniasandmint.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

