Tit For A Tat

How good is receiving compliments? One small positive remark on how I look or what a great job I’m doing, can completely turn my day around. I could rattle off numerous examples of times that someone, whether they be a stranger or a friend, has gone out of their way to boost my self confidence and how brilliant that has made me feel. I can never express to someone how greatly that one tiny sentence, or at times even a nice big flashy smile, has impacted my day for the better. Immediately I begin to think on a more positive scale and can feel a smile spread across my happy little heart. The more I receive these kind compliments, and think about how uplifted I feel after hearing them, the more I try to remind myself to hand them out to others.

What if every person could start by giving another person just one (genuine) compliment a day? How many more people would be smiling as you walked the streets? And speaking of smiling, we should all really do that more often as well! Did you know that even the physical movement of a smile, forcing your cheeks outward and your teeth to show, will send a message to your brain to feel happy? I heard that if you force a smile out of yourself for five minutes in the car on the way to work in the morning, you’ll set your mind in a positive place and most likely have a better day. I honestly believe it. I love to say a prayer every time I’m on route to work; I pray that God fills me with joy. Not happiness, but joy. For joy is a gift from God, while happiness is a emotion which can fade. I pray for a joyful heart and I feel it, every time. What an enormous difference a smile and short prayer can do for my day!

I can only believe and hope for an uprising of young people who can learn respect, joy and how to give a compliment. How often do you think something nice about someone in your head but can’t bring yourself, or can’t be bothered, to say it out loud? Um, yeah. Me! I want to kick myself every time because I know how great I feel after receiving a positive remark. It stays on my mind for the rest of the day, and I often am still thinking of it when I write in my journal at night.

A small, yet sincere, compliment really can go a long way. Don’t take that lightly. And don’t be afraid of saying the nice things out loud! Think of all the gossiping that goes around. Imagine if we all started gossiping only nice things. How fun would that be!

Let’s start making a conscious effort to doing our small, yet effective, part to making the world a smilier place.

Be helpful. When you see a person without a smile, give him one of yours.
– Zig Ziglar

IMG_1898
This is my favourite smile of all! Ollie; who I nannied and lived with in England for six months.

Leave a Reply

