Oh, Switzerland.

‘Hoi Hoi’ quickly became our favourite greeting while visiting this glorious country. It simply means a friendly “hello” and Shawn still often begins our conversations by saying it. A little piece of our hearts will always be drawn to Switzerland, the land of peace. A safe haven, a truce. Two of our dear friends taught, showed and fed us countless traditional Swiss words, places and foods in the 3 days we were there; it was an unforgettable experience. I had been to Switzerland once before, last year while travelling. It has always been a country I find myself talking excitedly about. Words of praise can’t flow from my mouth quick enough when it comes to describing the beauty and serenity of the land. And returning to it was like taking in a deep breath of the fresh mountain air. Quite literally, too! The swiss alps will never cease to amaze me. Standing high up on one of those peaks, the wind gushing almost through you, creates an incredible sense of exhilarating passion. Passion for what, I don’t know. Maybe simply to live, and climb more mountains. And conquer more fears, or bring on more adventure. To some, it may sound like nonsense. How could one breath of air do that? Well, I’m not sure I can answer that except to say I have been there and I have felt it.

The thing that amazes me most about the breathtaking beauty of this country is the fact that my very best friend created it all. God formed those mountains with his own hands. He sculpted the landscape, and poured in the turquoise waters. He blew in the breeze, and sprinkled the snow onto the peaks. His creativity and artistry cannot be described by any one word. It is too great. When I stand up there in those valleys, upon mountains, surrounding by yet more mountains, I think to myself that if only every person could stand right here just once in their life. For if every human had that moment of pure serenity and unshakable peace, there could be no eye turned from the Lord. The picturesque scenery that cannot be truly captured through a camera lens, is enough to know there is a God. Beauty such as this does not simply appear. Only the worlds finest artist could create such a masterpiece.

I urge all those who have not been, to go. Go to Switzerland. My eyes were opened ten times more to the enormity of God’s sheer splendour through the sites I saw and the air I breathed. A truly wonderful experience.

IMG_3211 IMG_3218 IMG_3227 IMG_3228 IMG_3244 IMG_3250 IMG_3266 IMG_3275 IMG_3297 IMG_3338 IMG_3339 IMG_3372 IMG_3379 IMG_3557 IMG_3559 IMG_3561 IMG_3562 IMG_3565 IMG_3566 IMG_3568 IMG_3570

2 thoughts on “Oh, Switzerland.

  1. ahhh just reading this takes me there! I can feel the Lord’s glory that you felt in that very moment through your writing and of course the Holy Spirit. Thank you for that moment of peace!

Leave a Reply

