A Child’s Joy

After finally receiving my CRB check back, I am now legally allowed to work with children here in the UK. So over the last couple of days I’ve been working as a Nursery Nurse (Childcare Worker in Australian terms.) I’m with a childcare agency that keeps me up to date with new jobs on offer and sends me out as a causal worker until I find something more stable. If someone were to ask me what my favourite thing about children is or why I choose to work with them, my answer would be simply this: a child’s joy.

They hold something truly captivating within their little spirits which seems to shine so brightly out of their inquisitive eyes. A child embodies a kind of innocence that is lost with age. They see only the good of the world, unable to comprehend evil. Their hearts are pure; yet to be tampered with by the wicked. Every new thing they learn excites them, and their minds boil with creativity and inspirational ways in which to view the world. The world is a ginormous playground through their eyes, and around every corner is a new adventure. More colours to see, more people to meet and play with, more places to run, more mountains to climb, more oceans to swim, more ducks to feed, more swings to sore through the clouds on. What if we all held that sense of adventure so close to our hearts? What if we never lost that zest for fun?

In the Bible, God is constantly reminding us to be more like children, taking on their innocence and expectant hearts. Of course this is no excuse for immaturity and not to be mistaken with naivety. In Mark 10:13-16 it says:

 “People were bringing little children to Jesus to have him touch them, but the disciples rebuked them. When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it. And he took the children in his arms, put his hands on them and blessed them.”

He wants us to purify ourselves like a child, and have their faith. We allow our faith to dwindle and fade due to the worries of the world. But a child is not mislead by these troubles. They keep their minds clear and their hearts open.

Children will forever be one of my greatest inspirations in the way I live my life (second to Jesus, of course.) I pray for a bigger heart, stronger faith and freer spirit every morning.

Keep your dreams BIG and your worries SMALL!

 

This photo of my dear little friend, Eva, perfectly depicts the bright eyed wonders of a child's joy.
This photo of my dear little friend, Eva, perfectly depicts the bright eyed wonders of a child’s joy.

 

Leave a Reply

