Clouds on Clouds on Clouds

Oh, English weather, you frustrate yet also entertain me. What inspired me to write this was the fact that I looked out my quaint bedroom window to see the rainfall and heavy winds swirling outside. I looked back down at my computer screen still feeling no inspiration, so I checked the window again. Honestly it had been no more than 45 seconds and the sun was peaking out from a cloud, no sign of rain and winds had almost ceased. I simply sighed and turned back to my blank document to begin writing this. I’ve been living in the UK for just over a month now and so I am beginning to get used to the wild weather patterns (but not really at all.) Back in my hometown Sydney, Australia, the weather was obviously not completely predictable but fairly straight forward. Summer: hot and humid during the day with an afternoon storm and warm evenings. Autumn: cooling down, leaves turn darker and begin to fall (but hardly) it’s fairly cloudy and chilly. Winter: dry winds and cold temperatures (of course, since arriving in England I have found a whole new meaning to the word cold and I haven’t even experienced winter yet.) Spring: the warm sun is back out and the flowers bloom, the perfect season. Here’s my perception of England so far:

Everyday: cold and wet.

Alright, I’m being a little pessimistic (see what this weather does to me?!) To be fair, I have seen sun since I’ve been here. In fact the first ten days or so were perfectly beautiful. Clear blue skies and the sun heating you to the perfect temp. I was sure to appreciate it while it lasted as I was constantly reminded by my housemate and everyone else I came into contact with, “do NOT get used to this”  So I tried my hardest, but it wasn’t looking good due to the fact that I was already used to that weather back home.

For anyone who’s wondering, the most frequently asked question (by far) I’ve had is “…you came from Sydney to… Southampton?”  followed by that what-on-earth-is-wrong-with-you look with one eyebrow raised higher than the other. No one seems to understand my reason for being here, and I suppose at times I question myself a little too. But I am quick to reassure my worrisome mind that I’m here for a very specific reason and purpose, even if I can’t exactly tell you what it is yet. The big man upstairs has it all mapped out, and that eases my conscience and excites my free spirit!

Also, here’s some raw iPhone snaps from some adventures my dear new friend Adriana and I went on to celebrate the (few) sunshiny days we were blessed with. (You should also check out her blog: http://www.adrianapac.wordpress.com)

Oh, and it’s raining again. Go figure.

Enjoy!

IMG_2016 IMG_2062 IMG_2064 IMG_2077 IMG_2103 IMG_2109 IMG_2116 IMG_2095 IMG_2118 IMG_2121 IMG_2122 IMG_2141 IMG_2151 IMG_2157 IMG_2158 IMG_2165 IMG_2214 IMG_2182 IMG_2178 IMG_2170

One thought on “Clouds on Clouds on Clouds

Leave a Reply

